In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this. pqxd

In some countries a lot of people encourage high school seniors to take some time off before continuing their studies in the university. Seniors are motivated to travel or even work for about a year before applying to continue their higher education. Although this idea have some advantages yet it still result in some drawbacks that must be taken into consideration. To begin with, there are some benefits students receive if they took a year break from studying. First, students can free themselves from all the stress and pressure the might have felt during the years studying at high school and by doing that, they can prepare themselves to a new more advanced level of studying at the university. In addition, if students work for some time before entering the university, they could acquire certain practical skills that shall help them in their studies at the university where education become more practical for example when student enroll in some laboratory classes. On the other hand, there some disadvantages that result from the idea of students taking time off before studying in the university. For instance, a group of seniors might delve deep in that year of free time and may never return to their studies. Moreover, another group who go for working for some time before continuing their studies might stick with the job at hand and never continue their studies. By doing so, these people will never develop a good career due the fact that a great career require an academic qualification. Even if someone decide to return to continue one's studies at the university he or she wont be as good as they were at the university and their excitement for education will relatively deteriorate. To conclude, I personally do not believe that taking a year off from studies could benefit you and i think it's better for one to continue his or her studies until having an academic qualification and then build their career from there.