In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Young people are the future leaders of a country, and therefore, it only makes sense that we take necessary steps to groom them up as responsible adults from their young age. Of course, we can do several things to this effect, but encouraging them to work or travel for a year after finishing their high schools is certainly an option, even though it has both its advantages and disadvantages. To begin with the advantages, students spend a very significant amount of their time to finish high school and learn some important “theories” that are related to general life lessons and works. However, when students go to work, they learn to deal with many different kinds of “real-world” situations and thus being able to learn some very important life lessons. Similarly, when students go to travel, it allows them an opportunity to recuperate from the tiring hard works and “disciplined” life of students by sharing and exchanging different views and opinions on an array of issues with people from different cultures, lifestyles and backgrounds. Sometimes, they even go through some life-changing experiences when travelling to places. However, this practice has some disadvantages as well. After taking some time off from the education, in order to either work or travel, students may not find it easy again to get their concentration back as they used to do before taking their time off after finishing their high schools. Besides, it is also possible that they start to like their life, outside of school environment, and they just may never go back to attend a college or university in order to further their education, which certainly is not an ideal situation for any society or country. In conclusion, we should carefully weigh our options before allowing our students some time off in order to work or travel, and teachers and parents can guide the young students in choosing the right direction.