In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, working or travelling for a year before pursuing university studies is becoming increasingly popular among young students after completing their high school studies. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend. Working after high school enables students to gain valuable work experience which can propel their career. When students work or travel, they find great opportunities to interact with people from different walks of life and tackle various life situations. Such experiences help them overcome the inevitable challenges they are supposed to face when they eventually start working. For instance, several studies have proven that students with prior work experience or global exposure have a greater chance of growing fast in their career than those who lack one or both of them. Obviously, there are several benefits to taking a gap year after high school. On the other hand, working or traveling after the completion of high school leads to a year gap and breaks the rhythm of studies. Some students may find working more important or interesting when they start earning. Eventually, they will give less importance to their studies. Unfortunately, this hurts their career prospects. Without good academic qualifications, it is nearly impossible to find a good job or build a successful career. Needless to say, the gap year can seriously affect the career prospects of students who lose their focus on studies. In conclusion, there are both merits and demerits to taking a year gap after high school. This can be beneficial for students who resume their studies with renewed vigor after the break. However, it is detrimental for those who fail to continue their studies.