In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In many countries, young generation are maintained to earn money or travel after graduating high school and then start to study at university. One of the advantages is that students will be refreshed and they will have enough time to prepare for university. However, one disadvantage is wasting time and graduate from university later than school classmates. Many students after high school want to relax and have a rest, because last year of school is always exhausted. Or they haven't decided yet, which specialization they will choose and were not able to apply for university. Nevertheless, it is better to leave one year for yourself and think about future career and education. Also, students will be able to earn money, set aside them for studying in university and travel in different countries in order to expand horizon. As regards of disadvantages, I can say only one thing and it is lose one year and not studying with classmates of their ages. Another classmates will be more educated and have basic knowledge of their future occupation. Moreover, those students will go forward and maybe they will build career earlier than people, who start study after one year of high school. For example, my sister took gap year to prepare for university and now her friends have already got Bachelor's degree and applied for Master's degree, while she at last year of university. In conclusion, taking gap year has some advantages and disadvantages. Someone can have a vocation, but lose one year. Someone can build their career earlier, but do not have a rest during school and university life.