In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is a matter of debate as to whether students should take a year away from studying in order to work or travel or whether they should embark on their formal university education. The issue presents both positive and negative aspects, and thus, further elaboration on them is required before reaching any conclusion. There are numerous benefits of taking a gap year for young people, either they can choose to travel or work. First and foremost, by traveling, a young person broadens their horizons and gain rich and fulfilling experiences. For instance, individuals have the opportunity to explore new cultures, and in this way, young people would be able to understand the world around them better and simultaneously, develop their personality by introspecting. Secondly, if students decide on dedicating this year to obtain work experience, they can gain insight into their inclinations and their interests. As a result, for students who have not decided on what career they would like to follow, work experience can entail beneficial. Apart from its merits, gap year also presents a number of drawbacks. To begin with, it is important for young people to organize this year off properly. Otherwise, it might end up being a wasted year in which students could have finished a year of their studies. Another downside of taking a year off is that these individuals would have been away from studying for a long period and this could lead to difficulties in concentrating themselves on their studies again, and it may take some time to adapt themselves. To conclude, although taking a gap year might present some challenges for students, there are several positive outcomes of that process, which will result in beneficial later on in students’ lives.