EXPLOIATATION OF REMOTE REGIONS FOR EXPLORATION OF OIL AND GAS

Many today believe that growing demand for oil and gas justifies the exploitation of remote regions. This essay would look into the merits and demerits of exploitation. Firstly the advantages of drilling for oil and gas in less populated regions relate to economies and safety. Many countries, particularly developing ones, are reliant on oil and gas to prop up their economies. Losing the revenue from these industries would pay fewer taxes and employ fewer people who would then contribute less to the consumer economy. For example employment opportunities may develop on the site of drilling. The second justification is safety. Companies will continue to drill for oil and gas but if they do it in residential areas there is the potential for human contamination, especially when it comes to more dangerous practices such as fracking. By limiting drilling to remote regions, the human population is safely protected from risk of spills and increased air pollution. On the other hand the disadvantages all relate to environmental conservation. Firstly, there have been cases of disastrous oil spills spoiling untouched natural preserves. For example, this occurred more than a decade ago in an isolated Alaska and resulted in the deaths of thousands of rare species and long lasting damage to ecosystem. secondly, fossil fuel exploitation effects the climate change. This result excess release of carbon dioxide which in turn leads to global warming. For instance, ice glaciers are melting due to climate change. In conclusion there are certain benefits of exploiting the outlying areas relatively betterment in economies and safety, as well as few drawbacks like environmental conservation and climate change also include.