In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Many countries in Europe encourage students to take a gap year after finishing their high school and before enrolling into an University. This time helps a student to take a break, think about thier future goals and enrich their experience. The high school or late teen age in a person's life is a very sensitive time. It is the time of maturity, learning to shoulder responsiblities and slowly transforming into a complete adult. Making use of this time properly and efficiently is very essential. Working for one year before joining an University is definitely very helpful, as not only it will help in gaining valuable experience but also will help a young teenager understand the value of hard earned money. Many young adults in their first year of graduate school are careless about money. They get ecstatic when they step out of their homes for the very first time, enter into a new phase in life and taste certain freedoms. As a result, many end up squandering money carelessly on parties, food, accessories and other not so important stuffs. Learning to earn one's own money, he/she will understand the value of money, be more responsible when it comes to saving it. Doing a job for a year before joining the University, will impart the essential knowledge and experience which will prove valuable in the future. One will learn many important skills like time management, team work and leadership. These skills are important throughout one's academic and work life. Learning these at an early age is definitely very helpful and time saving. Travelling has a charm of it's own. Being an avid traveller and having visited over 60 countries around the world I definitely support and love traveling. Taking small risks, stepping out of one's comfort zone in home and exploring new places teaches a lot. Interacting with people of different cultures, learning about their countries and traditions breaks many stereotypes, widens one's horizon of knowledge and makes one humble. One has to shoulder his own responsibilties, managing and taking care of the funds in a foreign country, taking decisions all by yourself, staying safe, makes one more matured and developed. After spending a lot 12-14 years in school, this one year break from academic life can be very refreshing and eye opening. Experience is the best teacher. It allows a fresh change from the regular student life and helps one to explore the world and learn by interacting with people. University studies is a very important part of one's life and hence it is benefitial if a student is well aware of the future path he is going to embark on. To be successful in one's endeavours, one has to make the correct choice and take the right decision at the right time. In many countries and cultures, students are heavily influenced by the society's and family's pressure. They end up making wrong career choices, or just opt for a subject their parents have chosen for them. Although initially this might seem helpful but many times, students cannot bear the load of the studies, they lose interest, and eventually drop out or change the department. This causes unnecessary stress and wastage of precious time. To break this circle it is necessary that a student is makes a responsible and matured decision regarding his/her future. School life teaches us academics, discipline and moral values, but a work environment and travel experience imparts hands on skills and knowledge. School life is protective and in a protective atmosphere, learning is not complete. Learning deepens and becomes more solid when one learns to step out of the comfort zone in school and homes and take independent steps slowly. Though a travel or work experience can help benefit in many ways, but this is not applicable to everyone. Young teenagers tend to be still very immature even at an age of 18 or 19. They do take wrong decisions which impacts and changes their lives forever. Not everyone is skilled enough to walk out alone completely in the world outside. They need a few more years to develop themselves, build their education and then explore. Young people are naive and can be fooled easily. The world outside, be it facing colleagues in an office or interacting with people of a new nation with complete different values and culture, can be risky. It can be dangerous if one is not careful and well aware of his/her surroundings. Youngsters, especially young women are easy targets for drugs, theft, and other exploitation. While stepping out into an unknown world can be exciting and thrilling, but is also be risky if one is not matured and smart enough. Also taking a gap year, can be harmful if one is not able to utilise the time to his advantage. Taking a break from studies, many can get distracted and lose the academic orientation. They can find difficulty in concentrating and might completely lose interest in pursuing a graduate degree. Instead of preparing themselves for a better and constructive future, they might find satisfaction in temporary small jobs. Like everything else, this also has both advantages and disadvantages. Learning comes in various shapes and forms, full of excitement and risks. It is like a roller coaster ride. While we cannot always make the perfect choice and take the best decision, we can work towards taking a good one. At the end of the day, one will have to face both the positive and negative consequnces of one's decision, so it is important that every choice we make is well researched and responsible.