In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of taking a gap year before starting university. (Word requirement: 250 words)

In some countries, parents usually encourage their children to travel for a year before going to university, when some would rather keep their children studying or working after finishing high school. In this essay, both advantages and disadvantages of a gap year are discussed. To begin with, if the youths choose to go travelling after graduating from high schools, they may probably get more knowledge about new cultures as well as exclusive architectures that do not exist in their hometown. Just like last year, I had a three-day trip to Da Nang and their living and culture are clearly different from that of people in Thai Binh city. Additionally, they could gain valuable experiences which are not taught in their school. For those who choose to travel, a gap year may give them more time to choose a suitable job for their lives. Actually, it is easier for people to define what they really want to do for their adulthood. On the other hand, taking a gap year also has some certain drawbacks. If people spend 12 months travelling before going to university, their graduation process could be slower than that of their peers. For people who are working, they can start earning money and raising their own family. Also, their learning can be used as payment for university. In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks for teenagers who travel after finishing school or if they choose to have a job, no matter how good travelling and working are.