In some countries, there is an increase in the number of parents who educate their children at home. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With developed modern technologies, people are adopting a variety of new ways to educate their children and some parents prefer teaching their kids at home. Although I admit that this trend will be beneficial in a few aspects, I believe it is overall negative and a better choice remains to be sending them to schools. Home-teaching is more child-dependent and parents can control the pace according to kids' performance and manage the time accordingly. For example, parents can accelerate the process and even skip some chapters if their children are good at certain subjects, therefore sparing time to dedicate to the weak points. As a result, the teaching effort can work more efficiently than attempting to coordinate among all students in the class. Another advantage of home-based education is that kids no longer need to go to school during rush hours, which will contribute to solving the traffic congestion problem as well as reducing carbon emission. On the other hand, knowledge and skills taught by parents at home tend to be quite basic and can not fulfil the demands of the future job market. For example, English is playing an increasingly important role in modern society and it is commonly required for employees to have a good knowledge of English if they want to find a satisfying position. However, most parents don't appreciate the value of English and are not qualified with this capability themselves, not to mention to help develop this skill for their children. In addition, parents are likely to have preferences of certain topics over others, which may result in an imbalance when they perform teaching activities. In conclusion, while educating children at home seems to be positive in some aspects, I think its negative influences outweigh these advantages significantly and parents should consider more carefully before taking this action.