external and internal factors to Morocco tourism industry.

Morocco is currently witnessing an economic development of the national tourism sector as well as its significant contribution to this country’s GDP. However, despite receiving the recognition of several Moroccan officials within the field about its spectacular growth regardless of national or international events, Morocco is believed to be under the adverse influence of elements from both inside and outside the industry. To begin with, it is undeniable that the attraction of this country lies in its idyllic beauty and cultural diversity, nevertheless, a number of visitors have expressed dissatisfaction with the lack of infrastructure there, particularly in rural areas. Given that the charm of the Moroccan countryside has boosted the nation’s revenue through drawing a high number of foreigners annually, many basic systems and services haven’t been well invested. Indeed, all the money earned from this golden goose seems to go to the wrong places, possibly into either the operators’ bank accounts or unsuccessful projects. Also, there are various external factors that obstruct tourism development in which terrorism should be the first to mention. To clarify, a recent study conducted by Morocco’s tourism Ministry has shown a dramatic drop in the total number of visitors after two terrorist attacks in 2003 and 2007. As a result, the travel industry was heavily affected, which requires the government to make every effort to put an end to this problem. Another key point which also influenced all industries, not to mention the travel one, of not only Morocco but other countries is the recent financial crisis. This crisis has resulted in a 10% decrease in the GNP of Morocco’s tourism revenues in the period 2008-2010. Considered those mentioned above, insufficient investment in public physical structures, terrorism and economic recession are outstanding factors that left negative effects on the Moroccan tourism industry. Regardless of these concerns, the country will thrive and escape the detrimental impacts that remain, which can be accomplished by modernizing all facilities and developing local communities.