In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

Music has changed dramatically over the years, and many new types of it are constantly appearing. In some places, only a few youngsters listen to or play classical music. I believe there are many reasons for this problem, and they will be analysed in this essay with my own perspective. In modern life, more and more genres of music appear, and traditional music no longer has a dominant role like in the past. In fact, the majority of young people prefer trendy music such as pop, rock, hip hop to classical music. Listening to music is a beneficial way for them to entertain, release stress and increase their creativity for work or study. However, to those, classical music is quite boring when it always has a traditional view, and it cannot satisfy their demands in general. In addition, since classical music brings little practical value in teenerger's daily lives, it makes them not into this genre of music. Moreover, their study or work are not related to it, so they do not spend their time on this field. If traditional music could supply their entertainment and give them more highly paid job opportunities, it would be listened more regularly among youngsters. Since without the traditional music, they still stay and develop positively, therefore they can choose the most suitable music for themselves. In conclusion, I believe it is not necessary to encourage teenagers to learn and perform classical music if they are not interested in it due to the little practical and entertaining value it brings to them. They should be supported to enjoy their life with various genres of music, and catch their dreams instead of pursuing traditional value.