In some countries, there are fewer young people who listen to or play classical music these days. Why is this? Should young people be encouraged to play or perform classical music?

In certain nation’s, nowadays, young adults listening to or playing traditional music are less. This is mainly due to the lack of knowledge on classical music. However, we should encourage our young generation to learn it as it represents our ancestors music. The most evident reason why adolescents, who listens to or plays classical music are less, is inadequate knowledge about it. In other words, it is not known to most of the young adults around the world. Because modern music has influenced our young adults to the most extent, they hardly know about the traditional music. Take my cousin for example, he was trained to do rapping from childhood, and he does not have any knowledge on classical music. If he was taught about it, he would have had performed it now. However, we should encourage young people to learn classical music which enriches our culture and heritage. One way to encourage young adults to learn classical music would be introducing music classes in their school as a part of extracurricular activities, which not only give them the opportunity for those who are interested to learn traditional music but also preserves our culture for future generations. To illustrate, most of the schools in India has introduced music classes in school curriculum for young adults, where they learn to play and perform classical music from well-experienced teachers. In conclusion, although young people do not have enough knowledge on classical music today, they should be encouraged to learn by introducing music classes as a part of their school curriculum.