In some countries, the number of shootings increase because many people have guns at home. Give specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Across the globe, many individuals own guns for self-defence and recreational purposes. Gun related mortalities in households – in particular – throw the ethics of such forms of private gun ownership into sharp relief. In this essay, I shall appeal to crime statistics to argue that a person is at a far greater risk being shot if there is a gun in a household. Firstly, it is intuitively obvious that having a gun in a household endangers children and teenagers. This is because minors do not have the requisite knowledge or maturity to handle guns safely. For example, the US Department of Justice recently revealed statistics showing that 150 American children and teenagers die each year because of accidents relating to household guns. Therefore, it is incontrovertible that domestic guns lead to additional shootings. Secondly, keeping guns at home became extremely dangerous when spouses have violent arguments. To go into detail, male sexual rage, in particular, often results in deadly aggression. For instance, The International Crime Bureau recently produced statistical evidence that – if there is a gun at home – a man is twice as likely (if he discovers his wife having an affair) to kill her in a fit of jealous rage. Due to this, once again, guns in home correlate positively with additional shootings. In conclusion, there is undeniable evidence that having a weapon in a house leads to further shootings. Given the strength of this evidence, in the future, more legislature needs to be put in place to limit private gun ownership.