In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is a fact that the number of citizens who are getting overweight is growing up in many parts of the world, while their physical health and fitness conditions are worsening. From my point of view, this reality is caused by two main factors, namely unhealthy eating habits as well as the modern lifestyle that they adopted. However, I strongly believe that citizens and government should work together on undertaking some viable solutions, such as imposing a higher tax on fast food industries and adopting a healthy living, to tackle these problems. To commence with, junk food and inadequate physical activities are two key reasons of people around the world are facing health problems. First, one of the obvious reasons for obesity is the excessive consumption of junk food. Nowadays, although people are aware that junk food contains high fat and cholesterol, eating at fast-food restaurants has become a common habit because it is simple and relatively cheaper than consuming healthy food. As a result, people who consume this kind of food frequently get overweight. Then, furthermore, it is undeniable that in a fast-paced modern life, people tend to adopt a sedentary lifestyle. Due to the business and working competition, people have to work for longer hours and they do not have sufficient time to do some exercises. Consequently, this routine leads to health issues, such as obesity and even worse, heart attack. However, there are two main effective solutions to the issue of weight and health, increasing tax for fast food companies, and starting a healthful lifestyle. One of the silver bullets is the authority should impose higher taxes on fast food and soft drinks. If these kinds of food and beverage are highly-priced, people will avoid consuming these fattening food and beverages. Moreover, another significant way is that each individual should be more health-conscious and go on a balanced diet. It is vital that people should be more physically active by taking some physical exercises and people should eat a variety of foods that contain vitamins and minerals. Undertaking these actions, not only could reduce their fat body, but also would boost their immune systems. To conclude, there is an increasing number of people who are facing obesity and deterioration of health and fitness levels. Fast-food consumption and sedentary living are two significant causes. Meanwhile, the synergy between government and society in undertaking several actions, such as enforcing a rule of higher taxation and adopting a healthy lifestyle, is pivotal to solve these issues.