In Some Countries The Average Weight Of People Is Increasing And Their Levels of Fitness Are Decreasing | Band 7. 5 IELTS Essay Sample

In some countries, obesity is becoming an epidemic. This also affects the fitness level of people. In my opinion, the main causes of obesity are the sedentary lifestyle of people and their unhealthy dietary habits. I believe the only method of combating this epidemic is to modify the life styles and food habits of those concerned. Most cases of obesity and associated health problems are reported from developed countries. Actually, affluent people are more likely to be obese than their poor counterparts. Studies have shown that the most common causes of obesity are a sedentary lifestyle and excessive consumption of fast food and fizzy drinks. Various studies have also shown that individuals who exercise for at least 30 minutes per day and who follow a healthy diet have minimal chance of getting obese. Another important reason for this fast growing problem is the lack of health awareness among the population. Most people including housewives and children neglect their health and that is a cause for concern. Schools in the UK now give a report of the weight of their students in the quarterly report to their parents. This shows the extent to which this epidemic has spread. In the past, the way of life itself assured good health. In a world without elevators, home appliances and luxury private transport, we were guaranteed of our daily dose of exercise. The best way to curtail the spread of this menace is to attack it at the source. A good example is seen in Japan and Singapore where office workers and students are encouraged to get fit and exercise for 15 minutes. In countries like the UK, fast food and fizzy drinks are banned in and around schools and residential areas. More importantly, in Singapore, fitness is a measure of assessment at work and school. In conclusion, the current lifestyle and eating habits are responsible for the rise in cases of obesity. Getting physically active and eating a healthy diet are the only way to combat this issue.