Youngsters are using more social media these days. What are the advantages and disadvantages of the youngsters?

In the era of contemporary life, the development of social networking sites has become an issue of broad interest to people from all strata. It seems to be an increasingly widespread phenomenon that nowsadays, teenagers tend to spend much their time on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. To the best of my knowledge, this offers many advantages, while there are also some disadvantages, which are worth considering. On the one hand, there are two major benefits to teenagers who are using social publishing applications. Firstly, thanks to the advent of social media, adolescents can acquire knowledge from the internet, which is an abundant source of information, they can broaden their horizons of other areas. For example, a student can learn how to play music instruments through You Tube or studying maths with some software recorded tutorials by prestigious teachers. Secondly, teenagers can keep in touch with their families or friends on platforms such as Zalo, Viber and Messenger, who live far from them or study abroad. Consequently, they may not feel homesick. On the other hand, various drawbacks may be noted. For one thing, internet like a two-edged sword, it is besieged by many toxic contents related to violence and sex. This mental poisons have been seriously corrupting adolescent’s innocent minds and influencing their mental, lead them to go astray. For another disadvantage, spending much time just surfing the internet, juveniles may lose their focus from studies. They keep checking their social platform pages and having conversations with their friends. Therefore, it can impact their future career. In conclusion, it is a good chance to boost knowledge and entertain themselves. However, long time usage will bring many disadvantage. Therefore, people should see the pros and cons of social media before using it.