In some countries, students are required to learn a foreign language, but in other countries, it is not necessary to do so. Discuss the benefits of each case and give your own opinion.

In the present-world society, the practice of learning foreign languages has been burgeoning among people. While few nations enforce their learners to learn languages of other countries, there is no compulsion on students to have the knowledge of foreign languages in certain nations. According to my viewpoint, being a bilingual or even multilingual will be advantageous to students. To commence with, the ability to speak foreign languages enables students to connect with a vast majority of people, assisting pupil in grabing more career opportunities. To be more precise, learners, being able to comprehend other languages, can purse courses in oversease if the quality of education in their home country is not upto the mark, which broadens the horizons of students in their field of study. Every year, for instance, about 28% of adults from India decide to study their post graduate degree in western countries due to their english proficiency and poor teaching standards in India. This tendency of pupil not only ensures students get indepth insight of their subjects, but also allow them build a network of professionals, who can aid them in obatining good jobs after graduation. Thus, foreign language skills would be beneficial to learners in terms of career prospects. Nevertheless, when there is no restriction to learn a foreign language and if the students are only proficient in their native language, the over all development of the nation will be improved. To elaborate in details, without knowing to communicate in foreign languages, students would not be able to move to oversease for the sake of studies or job. In that way, pupil have left with no other option than to study, work and pay taxes to their own country. As a result, the economic growth of the own nation will be augmented. To illustrate, a study conducted by 'The economic times of India' figured out that every 4 students out of 10 prefer to do job in abroad due to which economy rate is falling about 49% in India every year. Therefore, a country can see drastic improvements in it's economy if it has students who study only the local language. To recapitulate, even though one group of countries force students to acquire the knowledge of foreign languages, some nations have made it optinal. In my perspective, although not learning foreign languages makes people contribute to the wealth of their nation, for the better quality of education and improved employability, it is essential to study foreign languages as well.