Many animals are endangered. Some people argue that we should only protect animals that are useful to human. rdql

There are an increasing number of animals living on the edge of extinction. It is argued that only those that are useful to human beings deserve to be protected. I disagree with the view. Admittedly, it seems to be more cost-effective to only make an effort to protect the animals that can be utilized by human beings. Firstly, there still exist a huge number of tough problems, such as famines and wars, waiting to be solved in many aspects of human beings’ society. Only spending money on animals whose meat can be eaten or fur can be made into clothes enables human beings to save resources for the solution of other problems. Secondly, the dying out of animals is not caused only by human beings. That being said, the disappearance of many species should actually be attributed to the choice of nature. Trying to protect those that are becoming extinct because they cannot adjust to the natural environment would be a waste of effort. However, I strongly believe that the protection of animals should not be done selectively. In the first place, most of the animals are crucial parts of the ecological system. Even those that look useless to human beings may be pivotal to the food of chains. If humans just sit by and watch a species disappear, it may significantly affect the ecology and even be detrimental to human beings. In the second place, the activities of human beings, such as hunting, medical experiments or urbanization, contribute to the deterioration of the survival of many animals. Therefore, human beings, after having gained vast benefits from nature, should shoulder the responsibility and answer for what we have done to the animals by protecting all animals that face the danger of dying out. In conclusion, though protecting animals selectively can save some money and energy, human beings should look at the larger picture, as protecting all endangered animals is not only protecting human beings ourselves, but also a responsibility of human beings’ society.