Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Some people hold the view that parents have the responsibility to teach their children to become a good member of the society, others feel that the school is the best place to learn social values. In my opinion, both the parents and the teachers have an indispensable role in shaping the character of their children. Firstly, parents are the primary teachers and home is the first school where the personality development of children is initiated. From birth to preschool children are under the sole custody of their parents. They imitate the actions of their parents and for this reason it is important for parents to become a good role model for their children. For instance, my niece is 5 years old and she respects elderly people since she has inculcated good qualities from her parents. However, parents are not the only influence on children. School plays an equally important role in the formation of their character. Here the children get to interact with other children of different character, personality and family backgrounds. This exposure that they get at school plays a crucial role in the formation of their parents. For example, team work is learnt in the school while participating in various competitions like debate, sports and so on. In my opinion, schools have a greater impact than parents on the social and moral development of children. Teachers provide standard expectations that our society has for its members, offering knowledge and ideas with less bias and less possibility of deviation from the student. As an evidence, in school children meet their classmates from various backgrounds, in order to help cultivate their ability to cherish and respect diversity. To sum up, parents undoubtedly are the first people who teach children values but the role school plays in nurturing kids with their holistic approach is definitely incredible.