In some countries, prison is the most common solution to the problems of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with better education so that they do not become criminals.

Crime prevention has long been a top priority of governments worldwide. Although imprisonment remains the most common form of punishment, a more practical and far-reaching approach to tackling crime is arguably to be found in education. Doubtless, there are grounds for maintaining some form of prison system. It is generally argued that incarcerating criminals acts to reduce the incidence of reoffending by warning the public against the consequences of illegal activities. Offenders being punished also offers a sense of justice to victims or their families, while criminals themselves are allowed the opportunity to rehabilitate in prison. However, this type of punishment fails to directly address the root causes of crime and might even cause released offenders, due to the limitations of a criminal record and a lack of employable skills, to reoffend after release. Hence, providing quality education may be a more feasible approach to tackling crime. Equal access to education and investment in educational services are important not only to the personal and professional growth of each individual, but they also offer the opportunity to foster a sense of social responsibility and compliance, thus reducing the need to indulge in illegal activity. Such individuals, equipped with employable skills to obtain a decent job, can work toward achieving a decent living standard. In this way, the benefits of education are not limited to solving crime alone but also extends to society in general, and thus acts as a more successful method of prevention. In conclusion, the strong correlation between education and crime suggests that investment in developing a more equitable education system is a much more practical and long-term solution to crime prevention compared with imprisonment.