In some countries, people who commit less serious crimes are made to undertake community service* instead of a prison sentence. Some people believe that all people who have committed a crime should be sent to prison.

In few countries, instead of sending people to jail who committed less crime, they are made to help in the community work which includes decorating public facilities, etc. There are few people who are against this philosophy. However, there are strong reason to agree with this philosophy. Primary reason to agree with this philosophy is because there are people who commit crime to just protect themselves or their family members. There are few cases where people are dying due to hunger as they do not have any way of earning. To prevent themselves from hunger they do small crimes such as shop lifting or pick pocketing. If they are made to undertake a community service, then this will teach them to not to do such crimes as they can work hard and earn the money. Other reason to believe in this philosophy is that if there is only one person working in the family and that person commits a small crime and is sent to prison then the family will have no source of income which might affect the children’s education, etc. While if that person is made to work in a community service during his or her free time instead of sending him to prison, he can provide income to the family side by side. Overall, only the people who have committed less crime should be made to work for a community service and not sent to prison because this way they will be able to provide income for their family and also learn their mistake and not repeat it.