There are many benefits to a good education. Therefore, a university education should be offered to all students, not just students with good high school grades.

Although some people believe that tertiary education should be open to all students, there are overwhelming arguments which make this impractical, as will now be presented. The primary reason why offering a university place to all students, regardless of prior academic performance, would not be effective is in the sheer numbers of potential students. Tertiary education is an average of 3 years in most countries, and offering courses to all students for this period of time would be financially crippling. In addition, education beyond compulsory levels should not be considered a right but a privilege for those who have worked hard in high school and have good results. This motivates students throughout their academic career to study hard. If any student was allowed to enter university, the pressure to achieve good grades at high school would be lost and students would be generally less inclined to study hard. However, it must be considered that there are some students who, despite hard work and being diligent students, simply do not perform well during examinations. For these students, a system of demanding good high school grades is perhaps unfair, as their test results may not be a reflection of their true academic abilities. Nonetheless, the pressure to achieve these grades is all part of the learning process essential for university graduates. In sum, therefore, there are only limited reasons to support the open entry of university regardless of previous grades, and although a system of requiring good grades does have disadvantages, it is more effective than an open door policy.