In some countries people tend to buy used things over new things. What do you think the reasons are? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays there is a trend, people love to do shopping at regular intervals. As a result, people in few nations prefer to purchase second-hand items compare to brand new items. There is a reason behind this and I think it may be a negative trend which will discuss in further paragraphs. To begin with, one of the prime reasons why people tend to buy second-hand goods is because there is cost-benefit. The cost of used items is less compared to the new ones. Hence, it is in the budget of the poor class and middle-class people. By buying second-hand items they will save money which will be used for acquiring another thing. Most of the time the cost of its are 50% less compared to the new ones. As a result, one can buy more than one item within the same budget. For example, purchasing second-hand automobiles will save lots of money which will be used in buying other things. Though buying used things have some positive aspects, there is also some negative impact of it. If more and more people buy used items then there is a dramatic fall in demand for new products which will reduce the production level at the factory and this tends to reduce employment. Secondly, the useful life of second-hand goods is less and many times problem of breakdown occurs. There is no guarantee or warranty for that, so if there is any damage happens then the full cost of repairs needs to be bare. In conclusion, purchasing used items are an economical benefit for a certain class of people in the society but overall this trend has a negative effect on the industry which will directly affect the development of nations. If industries are not booming the growth of the nation will affect.