In many societies, fashion is becoming more and more important in people’s choice of clothes. Why is that? Is this a positive or negative development?

In many societies, the role of fashion is becoming more and more dominant in people’s choice of clothes. From my point of view, the reason for that is due to the societies’ development, and the negative effects seem to outweigh the positive ones. A modern society comes along with a developed economy, where the citizens’ incomes are creasing day by day and more wealthy people appear in different ages, so they gradually increase their living standard as well as change their attention to another priority aspect: fashion. For example, in the past when people did not make much money as at present, the only people’s concern was the matter of working to get enough warm clothes to live through winters, regardless of aesthetic elements. As humans now are living in a modern society, the issue of owning clothes develops into owning fancy clothes. People start to care and consume more brand-name clothes, even luxury brands such as Gucci, Balenciaga or Dior and accessories to mix and match. Developing rapidly, the discussed phenomenon causes predictable negative effects that outweigh the positive ones. When people care more about appearances, they tend to judge others by their looks, which makes them ignore a person’s actual inner value and therefore, a judgemental society is gradually formed. People seem to always be in an underground competition when they have to put too much effort in choosing either their casual or formal outfits to look fabulous and fashionable at every moment. Moreover, paying too much attention to clothes creates lavish habits. If people just buy clothes based on the outer look but not on the quality, they will easily buy more than their actual needs, which leads to a waste of money and results in a throw-away society. In conclusion, along with the growth of the economy, the increase in the essentials of fashion is undeniable. Thus, those consequences caused by this phenomenon like forgetting a person’s actual value or creating extravagant spending habits really need to be controlled.