In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development?

In some nations, employees tend to work more hours than they are required to. This essay will present a detailed view, covering reasons behind this development and its cons. On the one side, I think, the urge of being rich and powerful is more impactful. People desire to enjoy luxury life; therefore, they are spending more time on work to earn overtime. Many organizations are establishing such flextime working environment to take advantage from talented staff. Moreover, everyone wants certain job security. Due to huge incline in competition, people are encouraged to be conscientious and skillful. A recent survey from China showed that 80% of the working professionals are focused to complete specializations along with their effortless full-time occupation. People are seeking more successful career to enhance lifestyle. On the other side, more work being handled by trained and skilled workers is causing employers to hire experienced staff. Due to this, numerous well-educated youngsters with none or scarce experience are struggling to get a job. In addition, working 10-12 hours day can cause serious physical and mental health problems. In office jobs, most workers are sitting and working on screen for most of the time, this can promote problems such as obesity and week eyesight. In data published by The Hindustan Time stated that office workers are more likely to face more diseases than construction workers. Finally, most people are impatience to live in a bungalow and to have pleasant future. Therefore, they spend huge chunk of their time while working overtime or doing two jobs.