Nowadays technology is increasing being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

21st century is rightly known as the technological era. The 1990s saw the growth of technology and various devices that could help people from all around the globe connect with each other. From the 1990s to the current year 2020, technology has undergone tremendous changes. Governments of various countries have started using this advancement to their advantage. With cellphone tracking systems and security cameras, it has become easy to catch hold of criminals. These systems and devices help to catch cyber criminals too who hide behind their screens and loot money from strangers. Such systems are also useful to keep a data and track of the citizens of the country. With virtual data being stored and uploaded into computers, it is easy to find records of an individual from any part of the country. The best example of this system is the Aadhar Card in India. This card is an identity of Indian citizenship. The card contains details like your telephone number, residential address, date of birth, photo and even scanned finger prints. This card is essential for an Indian citizen as this card also helps you to avail banking and other facilities. The data on this card is stored virtually and can be accessed by the government officials of India. On the other hand, there has been many doubts raised by the citizens on how save their data is with the government. The government may misuse this data or sell these data to private companies. The questions of privacy has also been raised. The Government gets to know all the private and sensitive details of your life. There is no guarantee on how these information can be used in the future. People are not only being monitored by the Government but also by private, huge giant techs like Google, Facebook, Instagram and Whatsapp. The concern over how Facebook collects and uses the data has been raised by the Senate in the United States. Increased monitoring can lead to control of our lives by the government and private techs. I feel technology has its advantages, on the contrary, these issues makes the disadvantages overweigh the advantages. The best documentary to watch on this concern would be 'The Social Dilemma' which is available on Netflix, an online streaming platform.