Happiness is often considered difficult to define. Why is this? What factors determine happiness?

It is said that happiness is difficult to define. One's happiness cannot be determined by a single factor since different people find happiness in different reasons. It is difficult to define happiness because each individual has their own source of happiness. While some might find pleasure in spending time with their family and friends, some might get happy when they achieve success or even complete their task. Also happiness doesn't last for a long time for many people. For instance if a person is happy that they secured their desired marks, they might get unsatisfied after a period of time and want to get even better marks since the human kind wants more than what they have. Although happiness might seem difficult to define there are few common factors that determine the happiness of many people. Fulfillment of basic needs is one of the key factors determining one's happiness. If a person had shelter over their head, clothes to wear and food to eat they can lead a joyous life. With this having family and friends with whom they can share their feelings and experience with can also increase the joy. However in my opinion being content with what we have is the main reason for happiness. In conclusion, though it is not easy to define happiness as each individual find pleasure in different things I think that the fulfillment of basic needs, freedom and being content with what we have are the key to leading a happy life.