The continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by the humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The current world population is 7 billion people. The countries that have largest population are China, followed by India. The world population has risen due to improved medical health care and reduced infant mortality rates. The rise in population has different reasons depending on the country and the cultural factors that prevail in the societies. As mentioned earlier, development in the health and medical areas has dipped the infant and maternal mortality rates around the world. This effect can be seen even in developing and under developing countries. Having a child also is a cultural norm in many societies across the Asia and Africa. A family is considered to be complete only when the couple has a child. There is a great important given to continuing one's lineage and legacy of the family. But, on the other hand, if the population growth of a country is taken lightly then it can have grave impacts especially on the environment. Increasing population means more amount of food and resources like coal, fuel, education, medical, etc. This means that it can put a great amount of pressure on the government to provide these services. The need for greater resources also includes destruction of environment like cutting of forest areas to build dams, housing areas, etc. The rise of population will impact the environment severely. In my opinion, the greatest problem faced by humanity is not increasing population but it is the destruction of the environment. Masses need to realise the importance of the environment. If we destroy the environment, we may not have food and other resources. Destruction of environment can lead to various diseases and outbreaks that we have seen in the current years. Governments, International organisations, activists and the masses need to come together to save the planet from further damage.