In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In some parts of the world, ownership of a property such as a house or an apartment is more revered than living as a tenant. As shelter is one of the basic needs of a human being, owning one’s place is much preferred. There may be numerous reason for this desire to own a dwelling place, nevertheless, this need to possess is rooted deep within one’s nurture. Apparently, people who have an abode of their own have a higher sense of pride within their community. It is especially true for citizens of my country, India, where most individuals have a frame of mind which dictates that if something is bigger, then it’s better. Besides, four walls and a roof provides a sense of security as well. Any family, be it in a remote location or urban sprawl, need to have a roof over their head to protect themselves from the destructive elements of nature and antisocial characters. Thus, possession of land or property is held dearly by many individuals. On another note, this thought process is advantageous for both, an individual and the country. Firstly, the standard of living improves ten-folds when individuals dwell under a sense of ownership. For instance, when one buys a house, one tends to add or change certain aspects of their abode, such as new drapes, furniture and interior designs. Moreover, when citizens start owning their dwelling place, they become more independent, and consequently, it improves the economy. This is mainly because one does not need to spend capital on paying rent, which devours a major part of their income. Instead, they spend that amount on buying items of need and add to the rolling economy. Understandably, all these factors add up and declare this trend to be more positive. To summarise, the desire to buy or own a house is, possibly, the best motivator in our society. Moreover, it is my opinion that this is a favourable trend.