In some countries, only few young people go to classical music concerts or play classical music. Why? Should young people be encouraged to attend and learn more?

Different generations do have different musical tastes. While older people tend to enjoy classical music, younger ones often prefer something more up-beat and trendy such as EDM or pop music. This explains why only a tiny number of youngsters attend classical music concerts. However, the attempt to encourage young people to go to such events is not necessary. To most young people, classical music seems eccentric and unappealing. Famous composers, such as Bach or Mozart, tended to start their songs with a hook, and refused to repeat it until the end. This denies people instant satisfaction but classical music lovers often say that it is worth the wait. Meanwhile, modern music tends to be simple and repetitive, and this constantly gives listeners a small dose of dopamine each time their favorite chunks are repeated. Given the catchy and arguably addictive nature of this music, it is understandable why youngsters have little desire to go to concerts playing classical compositions. Differences in musical preference are fundamentally not a problem, and so it is not necessary to encourage young people to learn more about the genres of music that they may otherwise dislike. This is because we naturally have a predilection for and associate ourselves with the music that we grow up hearing. In fact, the majority of older people cannot stand 'heavy metal music', which happens to be popular among a large section of the young population. This begs the question of why lay youngsters, most of whom listen to music purely for relaxation, should "learn' about the music of past generations. In conclusion, young people express little interest in classical music and rarely attend any concerts of this sort because they grow up listening to different kinds of music. This is a natural development, so it is unnecessary to meddle with their musical preferences by telling them to go to concerts that do not appeal to their ears. After all, classical music was simply trendy a few decades ago