In some countries older people are being encouraged to work longer and not to retire. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working beyond retirement age.

ANSWER In some nations the older employees are motivated to work beyond their retirement age. This essay will discuss the prons and cons of working past the recommended resignation time. Firstly, the outstanding benefit of having long-term older employees is their work experience. Most companies aim at high reputable service, therefore they usually need more expertise and well trained workers. In most cases these professionals are older and fit for retirement. For example, data has revealed that half of workers in successful organisations are more than 65 years old. And also, permanent social security and finance are some of the personal advantages of late retirement. On the contrary, the main drawback of late retirement is its contribution to youth unemployment. Hiring or retaining older labourers has led to increasing number of youth jobseekers. For instance, in many African countries there is a high rate of graduates looking for jobs. Only 20% 0f them are able to secure a long-term employment. In addition, there is poor quality of services delivered by old employees. Although they are experienced, they are not capable of working effectively. This has led to low production standards. An example to this is a warehouse operative job which requires high energetic labourers. Furthermore, encouraging the elderly to work deprives them of their good quality of life in terms of health. After 65 years the body is less physically fit and requires more rest. Therefore, being enticed to work during this time can result in various health problems. Inturn, this will create a huge responsibilities for the managers. However, the retirement age should be regarded as an indicator to good health. In conclusion, many countries around the globe are cheering old people to work beyond their retirement age. The sole benefit of this concept is the practicum delivered by old workers. Convesely, this has impacted the youth job market, decreased quality production of services and poor health.