In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of renting homes?

People in many countries, nowadays, give preference to lease a property rather than owning them. Renting a house provides advantages like, less initial capital investment and also provides mobility. Despite these benefits, not owning a house has some disadvantages like, people loose on a good investment opportunity. Additionally, there are many restrictions attached to a rented property. In todays world, many young people aspires to have their own space. Buying a house is a costly affair which people with new jobs are unable to afford. Hence, renting helps them to fulfil their dreams of owning their own space. Especially, in cities like Mumbai where house prices are skyrocketing, it is wiser to rent a house. Another advantage is mobility of people. In this dynamic society, people tend to move to new places in search of better job opportunities. Owning a house will obligate them to stay at one place. One of my colleague got a better job opportunity in Hyderabad, but since he was living in delhi in his own house, he preferred not to migrate to Hyderabad. These instance clearly states that renting helps in less financial burden and provides mobility. On the other hand, there are various disadvantages attached to renting an apartment. Firstly, house is a lucrative investment which helps to grow one's money. For example, a person who had bought a house in Mumbai twenty years back, the investment has become ten fold by now. In addition, in a rented apartment, house owner imposes many restrictions on the lessee. In my previous rental house, I was not allowed to drill the walls. Thus, renting a house limits you from a good investment opportunity and involves various restrictions. To conclude, residential preferences have changed a lot these days. Many people prefer to rent rather buying a house. This essay discussed that the major benefits are low initial investment and high mobility in life. Whereas, some disadvantages are loosing on investment and living under owner rules and regulations.