Today, people are buying more consumer goods like jewelry and household appliances. Do the advantages overweigh the disadvantages?

In modern society, the general public are buying more leisure and luxury products than ever before. Throughout this essay, I will explore the advantages and disadvantages for this trend and express my own opinion on the matter. Firstly, I will discuss the negatives of people buying more consumer goods and secondly I will share the positives of this trend. Many consumer goods do not give any real benefit to the person who has bought them. Moreover, these purchased items may cost the consumer a substantial sum of money, possibly causing stress over personal finances. For example, many of these goods could be bought with loans, or other types of credit, which may not always be paid back due to lack of funds or other financial commitments. On top of that, household appliances such as TVs and air conditioners need a lot of energy to be powered. As a result of this, the individual will find they are again having to balance more bills and commitments than is achievable. On the other hands, jewelry and fashion gives many people great happiness. Furthermore, if people have enough disposable income to spend on luxury items that make them happy, then that should be their personal choice. If a person has enough money for an iPad without getting into debt, then they should be free to buy that item. Many people feel they should also support certain companies and buy their products. As a result of this, the producers of consumer goods can employ large numbers of people, giving them jobs and financial support. In conclusion, there are many benefits and negatives in people purchasing more consumer goods. In my opinion, overall the increase is a positive thing, as it shows that more people have disposable income to spend on items they truly like.