In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner.

Family is the basic unit of the society. Choosing who you get married who you get married to is very important since having the right partner is the foundation of a good family. Some people are arranged to be wed but others have the freedom to choose their partner. In this essay, I will discuss both views and offer my opinion. Back in the days, arranged marriage is like the norm, parents choose who their children would marry. Some are already arranged while at their young age; paired to be with the person they barely know while others are paired up in order to strengthen the bonds of family businesses. With this set-up people does not have the free will to choose who they want to marry, hence they are expected to marry a person who they might not even love or have a connection with, which is the essence of marriage. On the other hand, there are people who have the opportunity to marry the person they want. Being married to someone of your choice and without the influence of other people is essential for a successful marriage. In addition, there is a lesser chance of divorce due to failed marriage since they are with someone whom they decided to spend the rest of their lives with. In today’s society, there are lesser cases of arranged marriage since people are given the chance to decide on their own. Furthermore, in my personal opinion I side with having the independence of choosing your own marriage partner because I believe that if I am to be wed with the person who is not of my choice, it is better to not be married at all. What is the purpose of getting of getting married out of other people’s verdict? It is just violating the true meaning of marriage which is to be with the person who you are personally and emotionally connected with. In conclusion, there are pros and cons with arranged marriage and choosing your own marriage partner; thorough consideration should be put in mind when deciding about marriage.