In some countries, many people do not have enough money to access the Internet. Should governments be responsible for ensuring that everyone can get access to the Internet?

In these days and ages, surfing the Internet is no longer a luxury to most people. Having realised the unique benefits offered by the Internet, some employers or teachers even use it as a medium of sending out instructions. Therefore, I believe that governments should be in charge of making sure that all people enjoy the chance of using the Internet. Unavoidably, the necessity of being accessible to the Internet is frequently doubted by many people. It is generally argued that one may still live comfortably without the present of the Internet. Therefore, it should not be governments' responsibility on guaranteeing everybody can use the Internet. Furthermore, it would end up causing more political conflicts if governments were to take the task as it is totally unfair for most taxpayers. Besides, it is also logistically out of the question to achieve the final goal as it requires a large sum of the fund. However, in my opinion, the importance of the Internet should not be taken for granted by any age group. As far as education concern, the Internet allows students to seek for further knowledge and be aware of more global issues. In addition, getting familiar with the Internet also helps the older generation to get rid of the invisible generation gap which exists between different generations. To cut the cost to the lowest, governments can just install the basic equipment for Internet surfing in those national libraries or schools and make them available to the public. To conclude, being possible to get involved in the latest technology is always pleasurable while the contrary can be quite miserable. I therefore strongly think that individuals should be granted the chance to experience the usage of the Internet.