In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In a modernized society, staying alone can be considered as complete freedom over one’s life. Nowadays, many people are adopting the solitary lifestyle in some countries and I believe this is detrimental to their existence. This essay will discuss the negative impacts of this trend. One obvious downside to this development is that people living alone are more prone to depression due to loneliness. Consequently, this can lead to substance abuse such as the use of alcohol and other recreational drugs. Therefore, this can result to drug dependency problems such as addiction which can have an adverse effect on the mental well-being of an individual. For instance, adults living alone are prone to abuse drugs instead of seeking help from friends when faced with difficult situations or life challenges. Hence, this behaviour is often as a result of their secluded lifestyle since they have no one to discourage them. In addition to the point highlighted above, living alone can be hazardous for people who have acute medical conditions such as asthma. These people are prone to an asthma attack once exposed to stressors that might trigger the condition and this can lead to an emergency situation, because they live alone they might not get medical help in a timely manner. For example, a research carried out in 1999 by American Medical Association in California found out that more than 80% of asthmatic patients who lived alone died of suffocation in their homes due to late medical intervention. To conclude, staying alone is not beneficial to the human race as we are created to embrace collectivist culture and co-exists with one another. Even though some opt to live on their own as way to enjoy complete privacy, this however comes with negative consequences as discussed in this essay.