In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In recent decades, in some nations increasing in the number of people who are choosing to live by themselves has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although, this trend will cause some problems, the advantages will be equally significant. There are two major disadvantages of the rise in one-person households. The first drawback is that since people who decide to live alone live without the daily support from their family, they may experience feelings of loneliness, isolation and worry. In fact, elderly people and the divorced are more at risk of depression, which is becoming an increasingly severe problem in society. Second, by living alone, the safety of these people could be more at risk than others. This means that there would be no one to discover them and take them to the hospital when these ones have a heart attack or any other sudden illness, which could cause them detrimental consequences and even death. Despite the negatives mentioned above, living alone brings a wide range of benefits. First, in order to choose to live alone, people may become more independent and self-reliant than those who live with family members. For example, they need to pay bills and do all household chores themselves, which could effectively improve their ability of self-management. Second, if a person lives in a one-person household, he will have inner peace and freedom of designing his own life. This means that they can create their own rules and make their own decisions without worrying about other people's opinions, thereby enabling self-determination and thus a high degree of freedom. In conclusion, in my opinion the increase in one-person households has both beneficial and detrimental effects.