In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in others they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight.

Education is a fundamental building block of every society. Although these days it is recommended to start schooling at the age of four, some still prefer it between seven to eight years. This essay will discuss why starting school at the age of seven has its benefits but why early childhood education is ultimately superior. There are numerous compelling reasons why early childhood education is beneficial. To start with, the first five years of a child's life are the most crucial for the development of their brain which provides the foundation for lifelong learning. They learn more quickly during their initial years than at any other time in life. To exemplify, a survey conducted showed children are proficient at learning a second language at younger age. Early schooling aims at the holistic development of a child's social, emotional, cognitive and physical needs in order to build a solid base. For instance, a preschooler will make friends and learns how to share, cooperate and work together by participating in group activities while playing in the play-based learning environment. On the other hand, some people believe that starting school at the age of 7 or 8 is better as the child get to spend more time with their families. The delayed formal training saves them from the stress of homework and other activities. In addition, it may also benefit them by allowing greater time for maturation, which leads to increased self-regulation and decreased inattention. To illustrate, according to research into child psychology, a pupil who starts school at a later age have shown better schooling results than many other countries. Conversely, children staying at home till this age usually spend their time in unproductive activities. To conclude, the age of commencement of proper education for children is a challenging issue among people. They can develop more uniquely if they are allowed to delay their entrance to formal schooling, however, in my opinion, attending school from a young age help with emotional, social and physical development that has direct effect on the adults they will ultimately become.