In some countries, it is now illegal for employers to reject job applicants because of their age. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, younger and older people have been declining in a range of job applications, leading governments to introduce laws to illegalise employers distinguish applicants by their ages. I believe that it is a positive development in terms of equality in our society even there may be some drawbacks. It is convinced that taking measures to ageing discrimination in the labour market is beneficial in some perspectives. Firstly, it is increasingly important to protect aged people to avoid being discriminated against. Many old people, especially those who work in certain areas such as engineering and schooling, have long periods of professional experiences, hence they should continue to work for a period if they want. This can highly benefit to themselves as well as to the community. In addition, younger adults should also have the same access to job opportunities as other people. They can learn knowledge in a faster pace, and employers should give them practical chance to improve themselves. As a result, younger adults may become more useful for society. On the other hand, there are some drawbacks of illegalising ageing discrimination. Since the regulation of ageing discrimination, employers may recruit many child labours to do repetitive works with lower salaries. This should be prohibited by new setting laws. Apart from this, some workaholic have a tendency of working all their lives when they are old. They appreciate the new regulation and do not want to retire even if their doctors insist on it. This can cause more healthy problems, which is worse for both their families and society. In conclusion, I agree that anti-discrimination is a positive development for both individuals and society, though there are several small drawbacks. If governments introduce more regulations for child abuse and the elder’s health, it would be perfect.