In some countries, employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries, employees are given four to six weeks of paid vacation time. Considering the needs of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have?

Paid vacation is certainly one of the most important achieves of unions. On one hand it emphasizes the fact that employers are not doing their employees a favor by hiring them, and on the other hand it gives employees a chance to rest. Although some people think that paid vacation is ‘paid’ by the employer for free, that is absolutely not true. Vacations as well as bonus are a percentage of the employee’s salary that is saved by law. So when employees have paid vacation it is indeed time that they have already worked and have saved for later. It is the same with retirement pension. It is true that is not always easy for employers to keep the bussines going on vacation time but I strongly believe that two weeks of paid vacation it is too little. In fact, I think that four weeks it’s the least employees should have. One month is less than ten percent of our year, if you can’t rest at least ten percent of your time, you won’t be able to reach your best. This is important also for employers, because their employees would perform better if they rested better. Also, people that have more rights at work tends to stay longer at a company. So it’s good for the employers to give better conditions and keep their most qualified people. In my experience, new generations do not consider their Jobs as the main reason of their lives, so in order to keep your employees more than a year employers should take more into account the needs of the employees.