In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common to transmit criminal court proceedings to the general public in certain countries. While it might seem to have some benefits, showing trails also does present drawbacks. In my opinion, the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages. There are some advantages of broadcasting criminal trials on television. This increase common people's knowledge about procedures involved in the trail. People are becoming more aware of some aspects of the law. For example, in some countries a self- defence murder is not punishable, but not everyone knows that. The next benefit is that, watching these processes, public is becoming discouraged to commit certain crimes. That particularly applies to teenagers. However, the drawbacks of broadcasting criminal court proceedings are more serious. One of the biggest disadvantage is teaching criminals how to escape from punishment. Moreover, detailed criminal trails might give potential criminals ideas to commit felony. Another downside is that, showing the faces of victims and their families will probably affect their lives and may cause serious psychological problems. They may face bullying or isolation from people who watched them on TV. For instance, recent studies have shown that there is increasing number of convicting innocent people. Those people shown on TV, have suffered from disdain of their neighbour, and even their friends. Thus, public hearing on national television tutors criminals and psychologically affect the victims and accused. In conclusion, broadcasting of crime trails on television has both benefits and drawbacks. Although it boost people's knowledge of the law, in my view, damage that can happen due to transmitting criminal trails outweigh its benefits.