In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want.

It is often argued about the extent to which children need to obey by the rules. Some people think that children should follow specific guidelines, while others advocate for higher levels of individual freedom and choice for them. I believe a balanced approach can achieve the best of both worlds, i. e. Kids can both learn to be disciplined through application of certain rules and develop creative thinking through a less structured environment. This essay will discuss arguments and examples that support this view. At certain times, application of a set of rules of behavior for children will have a positive impact on their growth through the development of discipline and structured logical thinking. Discipline creates a solid base in a child's personality for key attributes of personal achievement, such as hard work, structured thinking and sustained effort towards long-term tasks. As a personal example, I have been brought up to be disciplined in my studies that has enabled me to develop valuable habits for me, such as goal setting, planning my time, creating milestones and even rewarding oneself for achieving those milestones. I was able to learn the Language and pass a test for a short-term study abroad program in just three months! Therefore, following a certain set of rules helps children to develop a sense of responsibility towards themselves, their family and community, which are extremely valuable traits for a society. At other times, we need to foster an open environment where children are given space and time to develop themselves through unstructured play, which can help them to discover their hidden personal characteristics, mental strengths and weaknesses. This is critical for self-awareness, creativity and critical thinking, because freedom of choice enables children to think for themselves and come to their own conclusions of different situations. It is no accident that very successful companies, such as Google and Apple are employing similar practices in their workplaces. These companies give employees flexibility in their work schedule, creating spaces for games, leisure, and even sleep. These practices have proven to unlock creativity among people and help them to experiment with different ideas and come up with unique solutions. In conclusion, there is no binary choice for developing virtuous behaviors among children: either follow strict rules or do anything you want. I believe a balanced approach needs to be taken in this delicate and complex matter. Strict application of certain rules in children's behavior will help them to develop discipline and make them more responsible towards their self-development. At the same time, providing space and time for children to do things that they want, will help them to broaden their mind sand learn things through trial and error. This way, they will develop creativity and out-of-the box thinking, which is crucial in today's complex environment. Children are the future leaders of our planet and we need to give them the right tools for their development so that they become responsible, mature, creative and independent individuals.