In some countries boarding schools are getting more popular. Is it a positive or negative development? What are the reasons behind it?

Students in several nations prefer to study and live in schools rather than in their own houses. Regardless of its pros and cons, in my opinion, it is a beneficial development overall, and the aim of this essay is to demonstrate why. Granted, students who live in the neighborhood of their school would have more opportunities to develop both soft and hard skills. Firstly, adolescents must learn about housework, how to live in a collective, and take responsibility for their actions. This would allow students to form bonded and connected relationships and solid foundations and backgrounds before graduating from high school, allowing them to pursue more chances in society. Moreover, unlike at home, where individuals tend to relax, the environment at school would motivate them to learn and experience more. Admittedly, the downsides of boarding schools are indisputable. Children can adopt bad habits such as smoking, fighting, and so on. This means that the quality of such schools is not good enough for them, and the school should impose punishment on bad kids. Furthermore, boarding school pupils would have less time to spend with their families compared to normal school students. However, students can return to their own houses with their families on weekends, when they can talk, have meals, and strengthen their relationships. Not only does this foster warmer conversations among family members, but it also helps to create a close-knit family where individuals value their time together. Furthermore, the demand for boarding schools is intended to rise not just because of the benefits they bring, but also because of distance problems and family issues. There are some pupils who dwell in isolated areas where schools are too far away. In this case, boarding schools would allow them to save travel time and energy for daily activities. Moreover, if parents are too busy to care for their children, such as picking them up from school, preparing meals for them, and so on, their children could go to boarding schools. To summarize, I believe that when selecting schools for their children, parents should consider enrolling them in a high-quality boarding school to provide them with more opportunities to live independently.