Human activities have negative effects on plant and animal species. Some people think it is too late to do anything about this problem. Others believe effective measures can be taken to improve this situation. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In a few decades, many countries pursued of the economic development at the cost of the environment, leading to an endless list of endangered animals and plants. Some people think that nothing could be done to recover the destruction. However, I believe that we still can make a difference instead of letting the situation become worsen. Some people hold the pessimistic view that the environmental damage is irreversible and tremendous so human beings could do nothing. For the species extinction caused by pollution, it seems that there is no way to bring back them. What’s worse, living in a dynamic ecosystem, features would affect each other easily. For example, if a small fish, being in the middle of the food chain, disappears, the life of its preys and and predators would also be influenced, creating a chain effect. This means that a small issues would probably lead to a huge disaster that human beings are incapable to deal with. Thus, it is meaningless to take any actions. On the other hand, some people argue that taking some measures to improve the status quo is feasible, though difficult. Firstly, investing money on biological researches could increase the possibility to bring back some vital features. Since some DNA can be extracted from the fossil, in theory, it is possible that extincted features can relive if technology is advanced enough. Even though the possibility of reversing the extinction process is small, we could try our best to prevent the endangered animals from being extincted. If we could stop aggregating the damages by setting regulations for commercial slaughter, overfishing and overwhelmed deforestation, the self-recovering ability of the nature would mitigate the issues. In my opinion, although human activities have had posed a threat to the environment and many animals and plants have suffered, we can still convert the circumstance into positive side if we can take actions at spot. Those measures might be seemingly useless in short-term, the situation would become better with the long-term efforts.