In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary fr governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. with this opinion?

Excessive consumption of fast food has led to a growing number of people with debilitating conditions in some countries around the world. Therefore, some have argued that governments can control this problem by increasing the tax on junk foods. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this argument before declaring a position. First, by raising the cost of fast foods, more People will be forced to opt for healthier alternatives, such as fruits and vegetables, which are generally more affordable. These kinds of foods are rich in nutrients that are beneficial to the body. In turn, they reduce the risk of serious health problems. Co-morbid conditions, such as cardiovascular diseases and diabetes, for example have been linked with frequent consumption of processed foods. Therefore, when people are discouraged from purchasing these foods, they will live healthier lives. On the other hand, some might argue that imposing a higher task on fast foods does not effectively tackle the growing public health problems of most nations around the world. This is because majority of the population that eat pre-packaged foods are usually youths and working class citizens. Therfore, raising awareness among this groups is a more effective option. For example, health education programs were organized when I was in high school on the health impacts of junk foods. The result was that more students were motivated to opt for healthier alternatives. This clearly shows the positive impact of health education. In conclusion, though raising the tax on fast food can discourage some people from consuming fast food, this is only limited to a group of the population. A more effective solution to the growing number of people with serious health conditions, therefore, is in my opinion, creating more awareness about the dangers of processed foods in targeted populations.