In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments impose a higher tax on this kind of food. with this opinion?

Fast food has been one of the most consumed foods nowadays. As it has been easily available and takes less time to prepare, most of us prefer to have it as a lunch, dinner or both. As a result of more consumption of such foods, People are becoming unhealthy and suffering from both treatable and untreatable diseases. I partially agreed to a point that the government should increase the tax on fast food. This essay will justify the points, why or why not tax should be imposed on such foods. Firstly, supporting the government's higher tax will help to reduce the intake of fast food. Eating a higher amount of unhealthy food had lead to many diseases such as obesity, heart disease, arthritis, diabetes, and so on. This disease has also resulted in low life expectancy and increased cost of health maintenance. For example, according to one study, the rate of bariatric surgery has increased due to obesity, resulting from a high intake of fatty foods. Besides this, fast food has also made humans lazy and least concerned about a healthy diet. On the other hand, besides the above-mentioned points, fast food has also helped lots of people for example homeless people are dependent on such food as they can easily afford it. so if the tax on fast food is increased it will directly affect All the people who are forced to feed themself and their families. Furthermore, the rise in tax may not be an issue for the one who has a good income. So to some extend fast food has helped the homeless and jobless to eliminate their hunger as it is cheaper to buy. So government should have both visions before taking these rules into action. In conclusion, fast food has both benefits and drawbacks. Therefore the government should think of both consequences before increasing the tax on fast foods.