In some cities, traffic jam has become a major problem. Some people claim that the government should impose a congestion tax during rush hours. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to how to deal with traffic congestion, different individuals have different opinions. While some believe that it is detrimental for the government to carry out a congestion tax during peak hours, I would argue that imposing such measure brings more beneficial results. It is possibly true that collecting tax from citizens when the road is congested would generate disadvantages; one of which is that it will place a heavy financial burden on residents. It is due to the fact that most of the workers normally take a car to commute to work and home almost every day, which means they have to pay a large amount of money for this policy. In this case, they might find it difficult to cover the cost of other critical living expenses like healthcare and education. However, I would argue that this problem could be easily addressed. This is because commuters could adjust their leaving time to avoid the rush hours’ traffic, or change the way they are going to the workplace such as taking subways or buses. On the other hand, the benefits of this solution is more noticeable. The first reason is that it is a good approach to encourage green commuting habits. It is mainly because taking public transport obviously do not have to pay for the congestion tax, and consequently people may be more willing to choose subways or buses to go out. In this case, it is not only beneficial to mitigate traffic gridlock but also does good to reduce environmental pollution. Furthermore, by charging tax from dwellers, the government possesses a large amount of public money, which can be spent on improving road condition. For example, by widening the road and constructing more roadways, it is an effective way to solve the traffic jam. In conclusion, I am in the position that although levying tax to deal with congestion during peak hours would produce adverse effects, it is more advantageous to impose such policy.