People in all modern societies use drugs, but today's youth are experimenting with both legal and illegal drugs, and at an increasingly early age. Some sociologists claim that parents and other members of society often set a bad example. Discuss the causes and some effects of widespread drug use by young people

People at a young age are most likely to use some drugs either legal or illegal to experiment and sociologists assume that parents and society give a bad example to them. In this essay, I will examine the factors that contribute to the misuse of drugs and propose a few ways to prevent them. There are a few factors that contribute to the effect of youth drug abuse. Firstly, adolescents have no one to communicate with and they end up dealing with drugs. For example, they have some serious problems and they cannot tell anyone to release their stress so they use drugs to calm them up. Secondly, being friends with the wrong people might lead us to have a bad lifestyle. For instance, people who get along with a gangster might soon be like them. Although we have to be friends with anybody, we have to be wise in choosing friendship. A few ways can be done to prevent young people from using drugs. To begin with, adolescents should be taught about the dangers of misused drugs. To illustrate, young people are curious about how does the taste of drugs and ends up trying to consume them with less knowledge about the effect on their body. Therefore, knowledge about the dangers of drugs should not be ignored by parents. Furthermore, parents should give some love to their children to prevent them think that no one cares about them. Less affection might lead children to use drugs as their source of relief. In conclusion, drug misused is usually caused by low knowledge and can be prevented by teaching them. This essay suggested that the solutions to this problem are twofold, which is to gain knowledge about drugs and to give them some love and support.