In some areas of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. What is your opinion about this?

Some parts of the United States have restricted teenagers from going outside at a specific time of the night. Unless they are accompanied by an adult, they must stay inside their own homes every evening. I agree with this idea and will discuss my reasons in this essay. Teenagers cannot ensure their safety and security by themselves. They may encounter criminals, robbers or paedophiles that will take advantage of their vulnerability. They are not strong enough to defend their selves alone. In example, kidnappers target young people due to their inability to physically fight for themselves. The presence of an adult will scare perpetrators away thus, making sure teenagers will not fall into other people’s traps. Curfews should be imposed to the youth because this is the age where they are easy to be influenced. Time restrictions will not lead them to dangerous situations. Adolescents, nowadays, listen more to what famous people of their generation would dictate. To illustrate, drug dealers can deceive adolescents into using illegal drugs just because it is being used by the crowd. Staying at home and being accompanied by an adult would prevent this from occurring. Lastly, limiting the time teenagers are out during the night will help the community secure. Crimes victimizing teenagers will lessen in number. Moreover, young people inside jails will decrease as well. Ill- intentioned people will not be able to use young people for crimes especially if they are at home or with an adult companion. In conclusion, I strongly believe that curfews should be imposed for teenagers. This keeps them safe from harmful situations. Furthermore, adult supervision is a must to keep our young citizens from bad influences.