In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between inequality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in more egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement

The omnipresence of some languages around the globe has resulted in an anticipation that one specific language will be worldwide spoken by all people in the future. While this trend offers some undeniable benefits, I believe that it is a negative development. On the one hand, it is true that a universal dialect may help remove language barriers, allowing people from different parts of the world to convey their thoughts and ideas more effectively. Using the same language would, as a result, facilitate many fields, including international business transactors, cross-border cooperation and tourism. The emergence of English as the predominant communicative language has testified for this advantage. Furthermore, without linguistic barriers, any country could freely communicate and cooperate with others, forming a global village with a myriad of unprecedented opportunities. On the other hand, I am of the belief that those aforementioned advantages are negligible when compared with the potential consequence. As people around the world speak merely one language, this would lead to the disappearance of many other languages which are integral to the national identities of any country. For example, some ethnic cultures in Taiwan would be on the edge of extinction, if minor languages of these tribes are replaced by one global dialect, which poses a dire threat to Taiwan’s cultural diversity. In conclusion, it seems that people can reap a great number of benefits regarding communication thanks to the use of a universal dialect. I firmly hold the view that the drawbacks should not be overlooked and concrete actions should be taken to retain the linguistic diversity in the world.